Countries Impose Lockdown & Ban Flights From UK

A news strain of the coronavirus found in the UK has forced many countries to impose lockdown again and many have suspended travel to & fro UK.

The new strain of the coronavirus discovered in the UK has forced Prime Minister Boris Johnson to announce another lockdown. The new strain can reportedly be transmitted from one person to another much faster than the previous one. Since the discovery, several countries have suspended flights, trains and other modes of transport from the United Kingdom in fear of another widespread crisis from the virus. Here are the countries that banned travel to and from UK and countries that have announced another lockdown:

India: The Indian Government has announced a temporary ban on all flights originating from the UK, starting from 23rd December. 

Denmark: Denmark’s Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen said that the country will be under a lockdown from 25th December 2020 to 3rd January 2021.

Germany: To keep people at home during the holiday season, the country has imposed the lockdown until 10th January 2021. During the period, private gatherings have been limited to a maximum of five people. It has also suspended all travel from Britain for 48 hours from 20th December midnight.

The Netherlands: The country has reported one person with the new strain. The Dutch government has said that all passenger flights from Britain to the Netherlands would be banned until 1st January 2021. The government has also imposed a five-week lockdown until 19th January 2021.

Czech Republic has returned to a partial lockdown. Restaurants and hotels in the country, which had reopened only in the beginning of December, have been asked to close their doors again. According to reports, public gatherings both inside and outside will be limited to six people, while a nationwide curfew will be in place from 11 pm until 5 am.

Canada: Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said that all flights from the UK would be suspended for 72 hours and he instructed those recently returned from the country to take advanced safety measures.

Other countries like Poland, France, Italy, Canada, Saudi Arabia, Switzerland and many others have suspended all travel to and from the UK for a period of 2 days to 2 weeks. 

Meanwhile US President-elect Joe Biden has received his first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine on live television and urged Americans to take the vaccine as it becomes available to them.