Nadal Wins 19th Grand Slam Title

In the thrilling final at the US Open, Spaniard Rafael Nadal beat Russia’s Daniil Medvedev and secured the Grand Slam title for the 19th time.

Grand Slam tournaments are the four most important tennis events in a year. They are the Australian Open,  French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. When a player wins all these events in a year they are called the Grand Slam Winners. Yesterday, Rafael Nadal, 33 competed with the Russian Daniil Medvedev at the US Open men’s final in New York.They played fiercely for four hours 50 minutes in  New York. It was a very thrilling match but Nadal beat him and won the Grand Slam for the 19th time. When Nadal scored the final point he was in tears. He threw his bat and just on the ground. 

He said that "This trophy means everything to me today," World Champion Roger Federer has 20 Grand Slam wins. Now Nadal is just one win behind to be equal to Roger. In response to this Nadal said that “I feel honoured to be in competition with Federer. But I really believe that I will not be happier or less happy if that happens or does not happen.I am just playing tennis because I love to play tennis.