Mumbai Indians Win 2019 IPL Finals
The Times Of India
May 13, 2019

Mumbai Indians win the IPL 2019 in a nail-biting match for the fourth time.


The IPL final between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings was held in Hyderabad on 12th May 2019. Mumbai Indians scored 149 for 8 wickets. Kieron Pollard scored 41 runs off 25 balls. Even after Lasith Malinga from Sri Lanka gave away 42 runs in his first three overs, he was entrusted to bowl in the final over, in which CSK needed 8 runs to win. His experience really helped in this final over which was filled with suspense. With two runs required in the last delivery, he trapped Shardul Thakur with an LBW. This sealed the victory for Mumbai Indians by 1 run. It was a heartbreaking loss for Super Kings, especially Shane Watson, who scored a brilliant 80 runs off just 59 balls. He smashed eight fours and four sixes. MS Dhoni who was at 2 runs, was run out by Ishan Kishan.

Kieron Pollard has been fined 25% of his match fee for not agreeing with the umpire Nitin Menon decision in the final over of Mumbai's innings. This is because the umpire refused to adjudge a delivery by Dwayne Bravo as wide. Pollard went on to take strike well away from the stumps and near the 'wide-line' before pulling away as the bowler ran in. This prompted both the on-field umpires to have a chat with Pollard who then went on to his normal stance and completed the innings. Jasprit Bumrah was declared man of the match.

This is the 4th time Mumbai Indians have won IPl finals.