Lok Sabha Election 2019: Modi Landslide Victory
The Times Of India
May 24, 2019

Modi wins a majority in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

Prime Minister Narendra Modi led the BJP to a victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. He has won by a landslide across castes and geographies. Modi has become the 1st non-Congress PM to return to office after a 5-year term. He is the first PM to have won a majority vote. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has won every seat in 10 states and UTs. They increased their voter share by 50% all over the country.

The results of the election became very clear within a few hours of counting the votes. By the end of the day the BJP won more seats in Uttar Pradesh than the Congress did all over the country.  Out of 543 Lok Sabha seats, the BJP has won a total of 303 seats. They are the clear majority. Whereas the Congress has won 52 seats across India. After 39 years,the Congress has lost in Amethi, Uttar Pradesh to BJP candidate Smriti Irani. Rajiv Gandhi, Sanjay Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi] have all won the seat in Amethi since 1980.

Punjab has been untouched by Modi. The Congress has won 8 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab.

In legislature, an Opposition Party has a major role. It is their responsibility to make sure the party in power does not act against the interests of the country and the common man. They are expected to alert the population and the Government if the content of any Bill by the party in power are not in the best interests of the country. To create an Opposition a party needs to have a minimum of 55 seats in the Lok Sabha.

This time the Congress will most likely not be able to secure the minimum seats needed to become the leader of the opposition party in the Lok Sabha.  The BJP with the majority votes will now have no opposition in the Lok Sabha. The sensex zoomed past the 40,000 mark after the BJP’s victory and closed at 38,811, down 299 points. On 16th May 2014, the sensex touched 25,000 for the first time when the BJP won the Lok Sabha Elections.

PM Modi in a Tweet said that, "Together we grow," he said on Twitter. "Together we prosper. Together we will build a strong and inclusive India.”  In his address to BJP workers after their victory he said that, governments may run on majorities but the country runs on consensus. He promised that now in India there will be only 3 castes. The first of these castes would be the poor, and the second those who want to fight poverty.