Mumbai Indians Win IPL Title for the 5th Time

Mumbai Indians won the IPL Title for the fifth time by beating Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the Final on 10th November 2020 in Dubai.

Mumbai Indians won the IPL Title for the fifth time by beating Delhi Capitals. Delhi Capitals had entered the final for the first time. They opted to bat first. Their start was dreadful as MI’s Trent Boult continued his good work and took the wicket of Marcus Stoinis in the very first ball of the game. Soon the Delhi Capitals lost two more wickets and were looking in trouble. Then Rishabh Pant batted well and scored 56 off 38 balls and Shreyas Iyer scored 65. They together got a strong partnership and helped DC to reach 156 for seven in their 20 overs. Chasing 157, Mumbai Indian openers Quinton De Kock and skipper Rohit Sharma got off to a flyer putting on 45 in merely four overs. Captain Rohit Sharma went on to score 68 off 51 balls. Despite losing wickets, MI did not have any problem and easily won the match.

Mumbai Indians now have successfully defended their title. During yesterday’s match, Rohit Sharma scored 50 runs. Now he has scored 50 runs 39 times in his entire IPL career. He is now at par with Virat Kohli. Orange Cap is awarded to the batter who scores the most number of runs in a single season of the IPL while Purple Cap is won by a bowler who takes the most wickets in a single season. KL Rahul has been awarded the orange cap for scoring a total of 670 runs in IPL 2020 and Kagiso Rabada has been awarded the purple cap taking total 30 wickets this season. Social media was abuzz as soon as the winning run was hit. Former cricketers and celebrities congratulated Rohit Sharma and his team side for their emphatic win on social media. Hashtags like #MIWin #OneFamily and #Hitman trended on Twitter after Mumbai won the match.