Deaf-ICC & IDCA Promote Deaf International Cricket

The IDCA and the Deaf-ICC have been working hard towards encouraging sports among the Deaf Community, Watch our latest video, to learn all about their tournaments and achievements.

“Indian Deaf Cricket Association” (IDCA) was formed for the promotion of Deaf Cricket in India. The Previous name was Deaf Cricket Society, which was re-named with the new title as Indian Deaf Cricket Association. Sumit Jain is the President, IDCA & Ajay Kumar is the General Secretary, IDCA.

IDCA has hosted several tournaments in India and has also sent Indian teams to various international tournaments. The Deaf T-20 Tri Series International Cricket from Sept. 2018 at Dhaka, Bangladesh was hosted by Bangladesh Deaf Cricket Association. Matches were held between India, Bangladesh & Pakistan. IDCA has successfully organised the Star Sports has sponsored the Deaf-ICC T20 World Cup 2018 & organized by IDCA at Gurugram, India. In the final Match, Sri Lanka beat India and won the World Cup. The 4th T-20 National Cricket Championship League for Deaf was held from 11 to 15 Nov. 2019 at Rohtak, Haryana and was hosted by Haryana Deaf Cricket Association. The team from Maharashtra emerged victorious. The International Deaf Cricket Series was held from 24th November to 4th December 2019 in South Africa. It was hosted by Deaf Cricket South Africa. In the finals between South Africa vs India, South Africa won the match.

The International Deaf Cricket Series was held from 28th January to 3rd February 2020 at Sri Lanka. It was hosted by Sri Lanka Deaf Cricket Association. Sri Lanka won the tournament and Indian Deaf team were 2nd runner-up. Women 2nd T-20 National Cricket Championship for Deaf was held from 09 to 12 Feb. 2020 at Hyderabad. It was hosted by Telangana Deaf Cricket Association. The maharashtra team won the match. The IDCA is a full member of Deaf International Cricket Council (DICC) which is working closely with ICC as per the “ICC RECOGNITION CRITERIA FOR WORLD BODIES OF DISABILITY CRICKET”.  Stefan Pichowski is the Chairman Deaf-ICC & M. ZahirUddin Babar is the CEO Deaf-ICC. DICC Members: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Trinidad & Tobago, USA and Zimbabwe. 

DICC also received new interest from Cricket Association for Deaf, Qatar, to join DICC membership list.  Deaf Cricket Associations, ICC Full & Associate members are always most welcome to apply for DICC membership to continue the development of cricket for the most talented Deaf cricketers in the world. The DICC Cricket ODI World Cup was going to be held in November 2020 but it has been postponed to February-March 2022 due to rising cases of COVID-19 and the various uncertainties. In 2016 the DICC held DICC Championship in UAE. Pakistan beat England in the Finals and won the championship. IDCA will conduct "2nd ODI National Zone Cricket Championship League for Deaf" from 1st to 5th March 2021 in New Delhi. The Final selection of players for the upcoming Deaf-ICC Cricket World Cup will be held on the basis of outstanding performance displayed in the said event. The 5 Indian Zonal Cricket Tournaments i.e. North Zone, South Zone, West Zone, East Zone & Central Zone will be held as per schedule if no lockdown is imposed.